Enough Already!

In March 2016 I started a gratitude journal. It occurs to me that some of the things that I am grateful may seem a little strange to some, and that they may find the explanation to be of interest. In this occasional series that is exactly what I intend to do. Be prepared to be amazed at what I am grateful for…

I am grateful for not having too much money

Several years back I was assembling a small bookcase in the front room. Feeling that I would like to have some accompaniment to my semi-hard work, I turned on the television, channel hopped for a few moments, and then settled on a program that was just starting, The Secret Millionaire. The premise of the show is that a wealthy person goes undercover and chooses which project or person to give money to. ‘I wish I had enough money to give away’, I thought. The question is though, just how much is enough?

3d3d8f09-4fe6-4da1-9bdb-5dc85dae4d3b-300x200

You don’t even have to move to raise funds for Tibet Relief

To try and answer this question I thought about what I would do with a million pounds. Well, my first idea is that I would like to make a donation to the Royal National Lifeboat Institution. This happy band of volunteers who save countless lives at sea is funded entirely by charitable donations, and what better way to donate but than to actually buy them a brand, spanking new lifeboat? The only problem? One million does not even buy part of a lifeboat.

RNLI_graphic

Buying gifts from the RNLI shop is one of a few ways that you can support them

So. how much is enough then? It’s not only the RNLI that I like to support when I can, there is also the British Heart Foundation, Oxfam, and Tibet Relief to name but a few. I know that I would never, ever have enough money to go around, and only giving to one would somehow make me feel guilty. I content myself with putting any spare change in tins, volunteering, and buying the more unusual gifts for myself and my family.

I have enough. I don’t need anymore.

how-your-gift-helps-280x150

Oxfam Unwrapped – Buy someone a pig, a chicken, or maybe even a whole farm

 

 

 

Any Thoughts?

